on air now

BACK INTO LOCKDOWN: Stage 3 restrictions return for ALL of Melbourne

coronavirus latest

All of metropolitan Melbourne and Mitchell Shire is going back into lockdown.

Premier Daniel Andrews has just announced the news.

Stage 3 restrictions will return from 11.59pm tomorrow.

They’ll be in place for the next six weeks.

Geelong and the rest of regional Victoria, apart from Mitchell Shire, are not impacted by the latest tightening of restrictions.

It comes after 191 cases of COVID-19 were recorded in the past 24 hours.

“These are unsustainably high numbers,” Daniel Andrews said while making the announcement.

The last time they were in place for all of Melbourne was May 13.

12 postcodes are already under these restrictions.

The Mitchell Shire includes towns such as Broadford, Kilmore, Seymour, Tallarook, Pyalong and Wallan.

It means you can only leave home for four reasons.

  • Shopping for food and essential items.
  • To provide care or to seek medical treatment.
  • For exercise (in your local area only)
  • For work or study, if you cannot do that from home.

Students in Year 11 and 12, and Year 10 students studying VCE subjects, will return to face-to-face learning next week.

Other year levels will have an extra week of holidays and the state government will “make further announcements quite soon”.

Regional schools outside of the lockdown zone will return as normal, for all year levels.

Police will be stationed on all major roads heading out of Melbourne.

Unlike the last lockdown, you must stay at your primary residence.

You cannot move to a second residence, such as a holiday home.

Click PLAY below to hear all the details

coronavirus latest