on air now

BLOG: KFC BBL06: Sydney Thunder v Adelaide Strikers at Spotless Stadium

The Adelaide Strikers have defeated the Sydney Thunder by 77 runs in front of a crowd of 20,642 at Spotless Stadium. Adelaide Striker Ish Shodi named man of the match finishing with 6/11 (4overs) with the ball.

Click play to hear from man of the match Ish Sodhi and all the 2nd innings highlights from Spotless Stadium.

1st Innings: Adelaide Strikers 5/178 after 20 overs

The Strikers came out swinging led by skipper Brad Hodge (39), big-hitter Ben Dunk and Kieron Pollard. Poor fielding early by the Thunder proved to be costly, Brathwaite dropping a regulation catch when Dunk was on just 8; the big-hitter finishing with 65. Kieron Pollard added a quick-fire 47 off just 22 balls to help the Strikers post a defendable total of 178.

Click play to hear all the 1st innings highlights from Spotless Stadium.

The Sydney Thunder have won the toss and elected to bowl first.

The KFC Big Bash is back at Spotless Stadium tonight with the Sydney Thunder playing host to the Adelaide Strikers. The Thunder come into tonight’s match sitting at 3-4 and a win tonight will see them move up to 4th spot on the league ladder and keep their finals aspirations alive. It’s season over for the Strikers who sit at 2-5 and are no longer in the race to play finals after their loss to the Renegades on Monday night. The reigning champions have managed to turn their season around, having lost their first four matches they have now one three on the trot and that form will need to continue tonight against an Adelaide side that have tested teams this season. The Strikers have made just the one change to their 13-man squad with youngster Kelvin Smith making way for keeper-batsman Alex Carey. With finals on the line there’s guaranteed to be no shortage of fireworks at Spotless Stadium.

Click play to hear captains Shane Watson and Brad Hodge with their thoughts ahead of tonight’s clash.

Sydney Thunder Squad

Patterson, Vince, Watson (c), Rohrer, Gibson, Brathwaite, Nair, Lenton, Green, McKay, Ahmed

Adelaide Strikers Squad

Ludeman, Dunk, Hodge (c), Pollard, Lehmann, Dean, Carey, Neser, Sodhi, Laughlin, O’Connor