on air now

BLOG: Melbourne Stars v Sydney Sixers at Melbourne Cricket Ground

2nd Innings: Sydney Sixers 7/160 defeat Melbourne Stars by 4 runs after 20 overs.

A lower order fight back has seen the Sydney Sixers earn their spot in finals, defeating the Melbourne Stars by 3-wickets. Sean Abbott 33 (17) was the match winner and Daniel Hughes top scored with 34 (33). It was the Stars’ bowlers who let the team down in the latter overs after having the Sixers down and out at the 15 over mark. This now means the Sixers will take on the Heat at the GABBA in the finals. The Stars will play the Scorchers at The Furnace. 

Click play to hear from Sean Abbott and for all the highlights from the second innings at the MCG.


1st Innings: Melbourne Stars 8/156 after 20 overs.

After racing to 1/130 after 10 overs, the Melbourne Stars lost 7/26 thanks to some strong Sydney Sixers bowling. Nathan Lyon was the pick of the bunch with 2/18. Dwarshuis 3/25 also helped stem the early momentum of the Stars. Luke Wright led the charge for the Stars with 62 from 47 balls. The Stars will need to win by seven or more runs to secure a home final and the Sixers simply need a win to qualify.

Click here to hear from Brad Haddin plus all the highlights from the MCG


The Sydney Sixers have won the toss and elected to bowl.

It’s crunch time for the Sydney Sixers who travel to the MCG to take on the Melbourne Stars. The Sixers need to win to make finals and the Stars can go to the top of the ladder with a win. Both teams are coming off big losses and will need to be at their best to guarantee their spots in the top four. 

Will Somerville comes into the squad for the Sixers, replacing Jordan Silk. Somerville replaces Stephen O’Keefe in their squad as a replacement player. The Stars lose two of their best with Adam Zampa and Marcus Stoinis out on ODI duty. Liam Bowe and Jackson Coleman replace them in the squad of 13.

Click here to hear from both captains from the toss of the coin with their thoughts on tonights clash.