on air now

Hussey brothers reunited in Malcolm Turnbull’s first PM XI

Malcolm Turnbull has selected his first PM’s XI, turning to veteran Mike Hussey to lead the way.

The side features several players looking to mount a case for Test selection when the PM’s XI takes on New Zealand at Canberra this Friday.

Test hopefuls Cameron Bancroft, Joe Burns, Usman Khawaja and Adam Voges, along with veteran Victorian David Hussey make up the batting line-up.

Another Victorian on the Test radar, Peter Siddle, will lead the bowling attack.

‘I congratulate each of the players on their selection in the squad and look forward to a fierce contest on Friday,’ Mr Turnbull said.

Prime Minister’s XI squad

Michael Hussey (captain) (WA)

Cameron Bancroft (WA)

Joe Burns (QLD)

Usman Khawaja (QLD)

Adam Voges (WA)

David Hussey (VIC)

Ryan Carters (wk) (NSW)

Ashton Agar (WA)

Peter Siddle (VIC)

Jason Behrendorff (WA)

Mark Steketee (QLD)

Ben Taylor (12th) (ACT)