on air now

Malcolm Turnbull Australia?s new Prime Minister, defeats Tony Abbott in Liberal leadership spill

Malcolm Turnbull is the new Prime Minister of Australia.

The Liberal Party took a ballot on its leadership on Monday evening after Mr Turnbull issued a challenge to Tony Abbott.

He won 54 to 44.

Julie Bishop will serve as his deputy, defeating Kevin Andrews 70-30 in that ballot.


Publicly backed ABBOTT: Joe Hockey; Josh Frydenberg; Kevin Andrews; Mathias Cormann; Cory Bernardi; Craig Kelly; Peter Dutton; Eric Abetz; Andrew Nikolic

Publicly backed TURNBULL: Arthur Sinodinos; Wyatt Roy

Mr Turnbull dropped a bombshell on Monday when he resigned from cabinet and said it was time for Tony Abbott to be removed as Prime Minister.

‘If we continue with Mr Abbott as PM, it is clear enough what will happen – he will cease to be Prime Minister and be succeeded by Mr Shorten,’ Mr Turnbull said.

‘We need a different style of leadership … A style that reflects the people’s intelligence.’

LISTEN: Malcolm Turnbull’s press conference from Canberra

Former Liberal Premier Jeff Kennett immediately slammed Mr Turnbull, telling Tom Elliott on 3AW Drive it was a selfish act.

He hit the former communications minister with both barrels.

‘This is an act of treachery,’ Mr Kennett said.

‘I have no respect for Turnbull.

‘I am ropeable.

‘I will never, ever, ever vote for Malcolm Turnbull. Ever.’

Current Victorian Liberal leader Matthew Guy professed to knowing little about the situation in Canberra.

But he said it needed to be resolved as quickly as possible.

WATCH: Matthew Guy joins Tom Elliott in studio