Thanks for logging in.

You can now click/tap WATCH to start the live stream.

Thanks for logging in.

You can now click/tap LISTEN to start the live stream.

Thanks for logging in.

You can now click/tap LATEST NEWS to start the live stream.

on air now

Create a 3AW account today!

You can now log in once to listen live, watch live, join competitions, enjoy exclusive 3AW content and other benefits.

Joining is free and easy.

You will soon need to register to keep streaming 3AW online. Register an account or skip for now to do it later.


New Prime Minister Malcolm Turnbull announces cabinet reshuffle

Neil Mitchell
Article image for New Prime Minister Malcolm Turnbull announces cabinet reshuffle

Prime Minister Malcolm Turnbull has unveiled his new cabinet, with several Abbott government ministers getting sacked or stepping side.

Former Treasurer Joe Hockey, replaced by Scott Morrison, caused the biggest surprise by announcing his resignation from politics.

Mr Turnbull’s biggest surprise was installing Marise Payne as Defence Minister.

Her predecessor, Kevin Andrews didn’t take the demotion too well, pre-empting Mr Turnbull’s announcement on Sunday afternoon and bemoaning the lack of consistency in the defence position.

The Prime Minister’s cabinet features five women, up from two.

Staunch Abbott supporter Peter Dutton kept his job as Immigration Minister, but Eric Abetz, Bruce Billson, Ian Mcfarlane and Michael Ronaldson were not so lucky.

Listen: Neil Mitchell appraised Joe Hockey’s job as Treasurer on Friday

Deputy Prime Minister and Infrastructure and Regional Development Minister – Warren Truss
Cabinet Secretary – Arthur Sinodinis 
Indigenous Affairs Minister – Nigel Scullion 
Foreign Minister – Julie Bishop 
Trade and Investment Minister – Andrew Robb 
Attorney General – George Brandis 
Treasurer – Scott Morrison 
Assistant Treasurer and Small Business Minister – Kelly O’Dwyer 
Finance Minister – Mathias Cormann 
Agriculture and Water Minister – Barnaby Joyce 
Industry, Innovation and Science Minister – Christopher Pyne 
Resources, Energy and Northern Australia Minister – Josh Frydenberg 
Immigration and Border Protection Minister – Peter Dutton 
Environment Minister – Greg Hunt 
Health and Sport Minister – Sussan Ley 
Defence Minister – Marise Payne 
Communications and Arts Minister – Mitch Fifield 
Employment Minister and Minister for Women – Michaelia Cash 
Social Services Minister – Christian Porter 
Education and Training Minister – Simon Birmingham

Neil Mitchell