on air now

Shaun Tait recalled to Australian Twenty20 internationals

Australian selectors have recalled fast bowler Shaun Tait for the upcoming three-match Twenty20 series against India.

Tait has not represented Australia at any level since Match 2011, but earned a recall after an impressive Big Bash League campaign for the Hobart Hurricanes where he took 10 wickets.

The 17-man squad also includes uncapped paceman Andrew Tye and batsman Travis Head along with off-spinner Nathan Lyon.

‘Shaun Tait returns on the basis that he is the quickest bowler going around in Australia at the moment and he offers us that explosive option if we choose to use it,’ national selector Rod Marsh said.

Tye has been impressive for Perth Scorchers in the BBL, claiming 13 wickets while conceding only 6.79 runs per over.

But selectors couldn’t find room in their squad for former T20 captain and in-form middle-order batsman George Bailey.

Smith Smith and David Warner will only feature in the first T20 against India in Adelaide on Australia Day before sitting out the two matches that follow as they prepare for the first Chappell-Hadlee ODI against New Zealand in Auckland on February 3.

Australia 17-man squad: Aaron Finch (c), David Warner, Steve Smith, Shane Watson, Glenn Maxwell, Matthew Wade, James Faulkner, John Hastings, Shaun Marsh, Cameron Boyce, Nathan Lyon, Chris Lynn, Travis Head, Kane Richardson, Andrew Tye, Scott Boland, Shaun Tait.