on air now

Records tumble as Dusty Martin claims the Brownlow

Photo: AAP

Dustin Martin broke several records on his way to edging out the ineligible Paddy Dangerfield for the 2017 Brownlow medal last night.

The Richmond star recorded 36 votes, the most ever, and received the maximum three votes in a record 11 games.

It was also the biggest winning margin (11 votes) in Brownlow history, with Hawthorn recruit Tom Mitchell (25) in second.

Dangerfield polled 33 votes but was ineligible after being suspended.


36 – Dustin Martin (Rich)
33 – Patrick Dangerfield * (Geel)
25 – Tom Mitchell (Haw)
23 – Josh Kennedy (Syd)
22 – Lance Franklin (Syd)
21 – Josh Kelly (GWS)
20 – Rory Sloane (Adel)
19 – Marcus Bontempelli (WB)
18 – Ollie Wines (Port)
17 – Dayne Beams (BL)
16 – Luke Parker (Syd)
15 – Zach Merrett (Ess) *
     – Brad Ebert (Port)
     – Nat Fyfe (Frem)
     – Scott Pendlebury (Coll)
14 – Gary Ablett (GC)
     – Taylor Adams (Coll)
     – Ben Brown (NM)
     – Dyson Heppell (Ess)
​     – Lachie Neale (Frem)
     – Seb Ross (StK)
     – Steele Sidebottom (Coll)

Martin now turns his attention to Saturday’s grand final, where his Tigers will take on the hotly-tipped Adelaide.

3AW Football’s Matthew Richardson sat down with Martin last week for an extended interview.

Click PLAY to watch